• Illuminati Uncovered

List Of Masonic Presidents

Many who study the Illuminati and Freemasonry suggest that the two secret societies are intertwined. Though tangible evidence is difficult to come by or authenticate, we do find it interesting that many members of the Freemasons have went on to hold extremely powerful positions in their careers - such as President of the United States. Arguably the most influential position in the world, of the 45 men to call the Oval Office home 15 past presidents have been affiliated with the organization known as the Free Masons. Lets take a look at the Presidents who were Free Masons. You decide what it means.

List Of Masonic Presidents

George Washington, the Commanding General during the American Revolution and our first elected president serving from 1789 – 1797, Washington was inducted as a mason on August 4, 1753 at the Fredericksburg, Virginia Lodge. He reportedly performed Masonic rites, learned as a Master Mason, at the laying of the U.S. Capitol's cornerstone on September 18, 1793.

James Monroe, our 5th President from 1817 – 1825, was inducted as a Mason on November 9, 1775, at the Williamsburg, Virginia Lodge.

Andrew Jackson, our 7th President from 1829 – 1837, was inducted at the Harmony Lodge in Nashville, Tennessee. Between 1822 and 1823 he served as the Grand Master of Masons in Tennessee. Jackson was also an Honorary Member of two other lodges including the Federal Lodge of Washington, D.C., and the Jackson Lodge in Tallahassee, Florida.

James Knox Polk, our 11th President from 1845 – 1849, became a Mason on September 4, 1820 at the Columbia Lodge in Columbia, Tennessee.

James Buchanan, the 15th President from 1857 – 1861, entered the degree of Mason on January 24, 1817 at lodge 43 in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

Andrew Johnson, the 17th President serving from 1865 – 1869, became a Mason in May of 1851 at the Greeneville, Tennessee Lodge No. 119 (now No. 3).

James Abram Garfield, the 20th President, entered office in 1881 and was assassinated six months later. Garfield became a Mason on November 22, 1864 at the Columbus Lodge No. 30 in Columbus, Ohio.

William McKinley, the 25th President serving from 1897 – 1901, became a Mason on May 3, 1865 at the Hiram Lodge No. 21 in Winchester, Virginia.

Theodore Roosevelt, the 26th President from 1901 – 1909, became a Mason on April 24, 1901 at the Matinecock Lodge No. 806 in Oyster Bay, New York.

William Howard Taft, the 27th President from 1909 – 1913, became a “Mason at Sight” on February 18, 1909 at the Scottish Rite Cathedral in Cincinnati, Ohio. A “Mason at Sight” is a Master Degree awarded to a non member by the power of a Grand Master (in this case Charles S. Hoskinson, Grand Master of Masons in Ohio) in a temporarily formed “Occasional Lodge” which is created for the sole purpose of initiating the new member. The "lodge" is then disbanded after induction.

Warren Gamaliel Harding, the 29th President from 1921 – 1923, became a Mason on August 27, 1920 at lodge No. 70 in Marion, Ohio.

Franklin Delano Roosevelt, the 32nd President from 1933 – 1945, became a Mason on November 28, 1911 at the Holland Lodge No. 8 in New York, New York. George Washington held an Honorary membership at the lodge.

List Of Masonic Presidents
Harry S. Truman, the 33rd President from 1945 – 1951, may have had the deepest verifiable Masonic roots of any President. Truman first became a Mason on February 9, 1909 at the Belton, Missouri lodge No. 450. In 1911, Truman served as the first Worshipful Master of lodge No. 618 in Grandview, Missouri. In 1940, he was elected Grand Master of Masons in Missouri, later earning the 33rd degree as Sovereign Grand Inspector General.

Numerology researchers will also notice that Truman was the 33rd president, and the only President confirmed to have reached the 33rd degree - a level few reach. It is the 33rd degree that researchers suggest is the level at which a Mason is given 'full knowledge' and understanding of the society's role in global affairs.

On October 19, 1945, Truman was also named an Honorary Member of the Supreme Council by the the Supreme Council A.A.S.R. Southern Jurisdiction Headquarters in Washington D.C., after serving as Exemplar (Representative) for his Class. He was also elected an Honorary Grand Master of the International Supreme Council, Order of DeMolay. On May 18, 1959, the now former President Truman was presented the fifty-year award, the only U.S. President to reach that golden anniversary in Freemasonry.

Lyndon Baines Johnson, the 36th president from 1963 to 1969, took office after the assassination of President Kennedy. He originally received his first degree (Entered Apprentice) on October 30, 1937 at Lodge No. 561 in Johnson City, Texas but did not advance in degrees, citing the time constraints of his congressional duties. Some count him as a mason, others do not hence the debate over whether 14 or 15 presidents were Freemasons.

Gerald R. Ford, Jr. the 38th President from 1974 – 1977, achieved the degree of Master Mason on May 18, 1951 at the Columbia Lodge No. 3 in Washington, D.C. The degree was awarded as a courtesy to the Malta Lodge No. 465 in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Other Presidents Rumored to be Freemasons:

Abraham Lincoln applied for membership in the Tyrian Lodge, located at Springfield, Ill., shortly after his nomination for the presidency in 1860. Lincoln withdrew his application fearing that it might have been viewed as vote pandering. Lincoln stated to the lodge that he would resubmit his application for membership after his presidency but was assassinated before the promise could be fulfilled.

Ronald Reagan is another President who it has been stated was a Freemason. Though Reagan was active in both Shrine and masonic functions throughout his political career, he was not an official mason. The President was awarded the title of honorary member of the Imperial Council of the Shrine in a ceremony held in the Oval Office on February 11th, 1988. The honorary degree qualifies in name only as a Shriner or Scottish Rite mason, but those two organizational bodies cannot confer the title Freemason on any person.

Bill Clinton was not a Freemason, but was a member of the Order of DeMolay - an organization for young men aged 12 to 21 that aims to build character. Clinton was initiated in 1961 to the Hot Springs, Arkansas chapter and served as Master Councilor.

What States Have Produced Freemason Presidents?


Of the 45 people to serve as President of the United States, one-third (14, or 15 if you count Lyndon Johnson) were Freemasons. Ohio, Tennessee, and Virginia are the most represented producers of Presidential Freemasons with three each; New York has produced 2; and Pennsylvania, Missouri, Texas and D.C./Michigan have produced one Freemason President each.